Yamaha Driver of the Year

Yamaha Driver of the Year

Want to race a Yamaha YXZ1000R? With each car purchased through any official UK dealer receive a free entry into the Yamaha Driver of the Year Competition.

If you race your YXZ1000R in any recognised race in the UK then your results will automatically be recorded for the award of YXZ1000R Driver of the Year. Race series include the British Cross Country Championships, the All Wheel Drive Championship and a number of other series and dedicated one off events. At the end of the season the winner of the most points awarded across all the races will win a pair of VIP tickets to the MotoGP as guests of the Yamaha MotoGP team. Other prizes will be announced during the course of the season.

There is no charge to enter, the only requirements is for your YXZ1000R race car to be supplied from one of the UK specialist dealers and to be compliant with the regulations as set out by the races in which you compete and you register your details on the Yamaha Driver of the Year website.

Driver of the year is free to enter

The Yamaha Driver of the Year is a free to enter competition for anyone who competes in a YXZ1000R. Open to anyone who has bought a car in the UK, simply let us know your results as you compete (a few pictures would be great too) and we will publish your results in a leader board. At the end of the year we will collate the results and announce the winner of the Yamaha Driver of the Year who will receive a pair of VIP tickets as guests of Yamaha at the Moto GP. There is no charge to enter, the only qualification is you must have bought a UK supplied car.

Maxxis Yamaha Driver of the Year 2017

The season began with the inaugural SxS Enduro Championship which saw Jason Bird show that his race experience last year has been good preparation for this season with a solid 2nd place, he was closely followed by first time racer Paul Melia in 4th.

The current standings for 2017 are found here.

Eligible Race Series

The following race series are eligible for the Yamaha driver of the year competition, others can be added if they fulfill the criteria.

  1. Britpart MSA British Cross Country Championship
  2. All Wheel Drive Championship
  3. Northern Off Road Club
  4. SXS Enduro Championship
  5. Ultra 4

Points are awarded on a weighted basis determined by the number of entrants overall, in class and the result achieved.